Connect with us


Coral-Eclipse 2022: All you need to know

Where and when is the Coral-Eclipse?

The race takes place every year in early July at Sandown Park. The Coral-Eclipse 2022 is on Saturday July 2 at 3.35pm.

What is the Coral-Eclipse?

The Group 1 flat race is open to horses aged three years and above. It is run over one mile, one furlong and 209 yards. Named after a legendary 18th-century racehorse called Eclipse, it has been run since 1886 and sponsored by Coral since 1976.

Coral-Eclipse news and features

Mishriff on course for Coral-Eclipse

David Egan put Mishriff through his paces on the Newmarket gallops on Wednesday morning as the Coral-Eclipse approaches. The John and Thady Gosden-trained five-year-old has not been seen since disappointing in defence of his Saudi Cup title on dirt.

Real World still in the mix, Vadeni set to be supplemented

Real World is still in the mix for the Coral-Eclipse Stakes at Sandown, having chased home Baaeed on his last two outings. Saeed bin Suroor’s five-year-old got closer to William Haggas’ unbeaten star at Royal Ascot than he did in the Lockinge, although he was still beaten by a length and three-quarters.

Adayar ruled out after fitness setback

Last season’s Derby and King George VI And Queen Elizabeth Stakes hero Adayar will miss the Coral-Eclipse and instead head straight to Ascot to defend his all-aged middle-distance crown.

Relive the 2021 race

St Mark’s Basilica put up a hugely impressive display to beat top-class older horses Addeybb and Mishriff.

Coral-Eclipse records

Five horses have won the race on more than one occasion; Orme, Buchan, Polyphontes, Mtoto and Halling.

Three trainers have enjoyed six wins in the race, with Aidan O’Brien reaching that mark in 2021 to join Alex Taylor Jnr and Sir Michael Stoute.

Lester Piggott is the top jockey in the race with seven wins, the last of which was on Artaius in 1977.

Coral-Eclipse odds

View the latest betting market

Coral-Eclipse winners

Five of the best victors of the race

Here is every winner of the race since Coral’s sponsorship began in 1976:

2021 – St Mark’s Basilica

2020 – Ghaiyyath

2019 – Enable

2018 – Roaring Lion

2017 – Ulysses

2016 – Hawkbill

2015 – Golden Horn

2014 – Mukhadram

2013 – Al Kazeem

2012 – Nathaniel

2011 – So You Think

2010 – Twice Over

2009 – Sea The Stars

2008 – Mount Nelson

2007 – Notnowcato

2006 – David Junior

2005 – Oratorio

2004 – Refuse To Bend

2003 – Falbrav

2002 – Hawk Wing

2001 – Medicean

2000 – Giant’s Causeway

1999 – Compton Admiral

1998 – Daylami

1997 – Pilsudski

1996 – Halling

1995 – Halling

1994 – Ezzoud

1993 – Opera House

1992 – Kooyonga

1991 – Environment Friend

1990 – Elmaamul

1989 – Nashwan

1988 – Mtoto

1987 – Mtoto

1986 – Dancing Brace

1985 – Pebbles

1984 – Sadler’s Wells

1983 – Solford

1982 – Kalaglow

1981 – Master Willie

1980 – Ela-Mana-Mou

1979 – Dickens Hill

1978 – Gunner B

1977 – Artaius

1976 – Wollow

View the latest horse racing odds

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Gamble Aware Gamble Aware aims to promote responsibility in gambling. They provide information to help you make informed decisions about your gambling. Call the National Gambling Helpline: freephone 0808 8020 133 8am to midnight, 7 days a week. 18+ You must be 18 years old or over to use this site. Please bet responsibly. About Us | Contact Us | Cookies & Privacy